jump to navigation

The Ultimate GateKeeper February 27, 2008

Posted by Doriano "Paisano" Carta in Enterprise, Freeware.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

In all my years working in I.T. the thing that has always made me cringe is the way that people handle their login account information and passwords. I cannot tell you how often I’ve seen login names and passwords attached to monitors on sticky notes or taped to their desk or keyboard. The more security conscious ones actually try to be more safe by storing their passwords in their drawer, which still isn’t that smart really. The next level of security is taken by those who store all of their passwords in a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet, which is better than the post-it method of protection, but it’s still vulnerable because their isn’t any encryption which makes opening the file very easy. This is a serious matter that should be addressed by every organization, no matter how large or small they are. One security breach and any company can be exposed to devastating results from a potential hacker.

246_schoolbus.gif
So what’s the answer? What can be done about this all too common problem that occurs in every company in America? Well, the first thing to do is provide some basic security training for all employees. Make sure everyone understands WHY this is so important. It isn’t just for the company’s safety but for their own safety as well. The next thing to do is provide a simple method for storing all of their login account information and passwords, perferably one that also provides encryption for added security.

Obviously, expense can be a concern so this solution shouldn’t be too expensive either. Now, there are countless password managers available these days, but to me there is only one ultimate gatekeeper.


KeePass is the best password manager available today because it doesn’t require installation, it’s easy to use, and it’s free! The best part of all is that you can keep thousands of passwords in one safe place with encryption. This means that you can have instant access to all of your accounts by remembering just one password from now on. Here’s a screenshot of the main interface (Click to Enlrage):

keepassmain_big.png

There’s a version for different operating systems, such as linux, Mac OS and of course all flavors of Windows. However, my favorite is the Portable version which doesn’t require any installation and can be launched from a USB stick! This means you can save the keepass program and the password database that it creates and encrypts for all your passwords in one safe place and with you at all times. Here’s the Keepass download page.

Summation:
Companies and especially I.T. departments need to stop sticking their collection heads in the ground when it comes to this grievous security risk and address it as soon as possible. Don’t assume that your users know better and would never be stupid enough to do such things. I cannot begin to tell you how many times I’ve seen these things done by individuals with extremely high levels of intelligence, multiple degrees and usually good common sense. It only takes a few minutes and the Keepass utility is free and easy to use.

Comments»

1. Jim Spencer - February 29, 2008

I use RoboForm for keeping passwords. The mobility factor you described sounds appealing. Thanks for the suggestion.

2. Anonymous - March 7, 2008

car deals

Excellent post. Keep it up!

3. Yasmin - February 15, 2013

Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles?

I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything.
Nevertheless imagine if you added some great graphics or video clips to give
your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and clips, this
blog could definitely be one of the very best in its
field. Good blog!

Doriano "Paisano" Carta - February 15, 2013

Thank you Yasmin. That is very nice of you.
I’ve stopped blogging here years ago and moved to my own domain… http://www.dorianocarta.com

4. losslessbored.com - August 5, 2013

Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other websites?
I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would really like to
have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would value your
work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

5. cod ghosts autoshoot - December 1, 2013

I loved as much as you will receive carried
out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject
matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an nervousness
over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come
more formerly again as exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield
this increase.

6. Christy - June 28, 2014

First of all I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you
don’t mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind
prior to writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out.
I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first
10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints?
Kudos!

7. looky - August 24, 2014

I’ve been looking high and low, and it seems that most liberal arts schools are populated by heavy drinkers and partiers, which I am not interested in. If I can, I’d like to double major in creative writing and journalism.. Thank you!.

8. obat jerawat alami - September 9, 2014

I wish to write articles based on the information collected through some copyright books. I won’t copy – paste the material but edit or modify it in such a way that the meaning remains the same. I would also give credit to the books and their authors. Am I breaking any copyright laws?.

9. ig - September 20, 2014

What computer does the revenge of the fallen game work well on?

10. click here - September 29, 2014

I need 2 set up wordpess through a webhost…. . i know i have to download wordpress but whats a good host to go with? and after i set up an account with a host, how difficult is the set up before I can begin building a site? and last but not least, can i still import the free wordpress templates?.

11. slimquick naturals weight loss supplement for women - September 30, 2014

And how do you garner a lot of traffic?. . I want to make a blog regarding my “adventure” with a little thing people like to call the entertainment industry. I want to include photos, experiences tips, and stories is that enough or?? And should i make my on blog or use something like blogger or flat press?.

12. computer slow windows 8 - October 13, 2014

You are a poor junior professor of computer science and are short of cash.. A computer magazine offers you a steady side job writing. one short article a month for three years. 36 months. The catch is the editor wants you to write about. the 12 different types of computer programing languages. And the 12 different types of computer tasks.. And the 12 different types of computer programmers.. . Before you get your first check the editor wants 3 lists of 12 types.. . So have a slice of wonder bread (builds strong bodies twelve ways) and. make a list of the 12 different types of computer programmers.. . Note: the other two lists are posted as similar, but separate questions..


Leave a Reply

